• By Office of Communications
  • Friday, May 12, 2023

Proposed New Elementary School Name

Dear Community members of Dawson Elementary & St. Mary’s Magnet Academy in Columbus, Georgia,

The Muscogee County School District recognizes that school names are an essential part of students’ learning environments and should cultivate a sense of pride in the history and traditions of those in the communities surrounding the school. Our goal is to ensure that all students, staff, and families feel respected, seen, and heard. As we draw closer to the completion of the building of our new school that will combine Dawson and St. Mary’s, the time has come to select a name before the grand opening. We have been a part of the groundbreaking ceremony and can watch with anticipation and excitement the opening of our new school scheduled for August 2024. This is an exciting time, and we are requesting community engagement.

We want to invite you to take an active part in naming our school. Parents, students, faculty and staff members of Dawson and St. Mary’s, and community members are all encouraged to propose a name. When you submit a name, you must include an explanation of why the name was proposed and why it is a good fit for the school. The name selected will meet the guidelines proposed by the naming committee to include but not limited to the historical, current name, or geographical features of the community or local area, names of persons who have made outstanding educational or societal contributions in the local area, or someone who has significant meaning to members of the school community. We are not looking for a name that other school districts have widely used but a unique name that embraces our community's guiding principles and values. Please keep in mind that no living person is eligible for nomination.

The deadline for submitting a proposed name is June 15, 2023. Names will not be accepted after this date. We look forward to you sharing your ideas and participating in naming our new school. Please complete the survey using the link or QR code provided below or on the MCSD website or return the survey form to Mrs. Cassandra Downing at Dawson Elementary, Mrs. Sasha Smith at St. Mary’s Magnet Academy, or to Mr. Trent Chester at Chester’s Barbeque on North Star Drive. Thank you in advance for your participation.


Best Regards,

The New School Naming Committee:
(Naomi Buckner, Seritha Love, Mary Farley, Cassandra Downing, Sasha Smith, Kimberly Wright, Trenton Chester)


Nothing here yet. Start the discussion!

Post a Comment