Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

  | Site Map  login

MCSD Search Center
MCSD Site Search Employee Directory
MCSD Recognition

Georgia Reader of the Year Award Winner

The Georgia Reader of the Year program is open to all schools throughout the state of Georgia. Each school may hold a school-level competition at the following levels: Primary, Elementary, Middle, and Secondary Grades. Students at each school in the district may write an essay about the topic designated by the Georgia Reading Association. This year’s topic was “What Reading Means to Me.”

The teacher then writes a letter of recommendation. These letters display why the reader excels in reading, how much they read, what they think reading means to the student. The teacher may also send in test scores with parental consent.
Each school in Muscogee County sent in one essay (it is up to the school how to judge these) to the Muscogee Reading Association (MRA). The Executive Board of the MRA judges the essays and recommendations with the following rubric: Writing fluency to include mechanics, grammar, literary devices, etc., creativity, and organization.
After the winner from each category is selected by the MRA, the submissions are sent to the state where they are judged by their own panel of judges.
The following students’ essays were selected to be sent to the state:
Primary (PreK - 2) Sean Strasser, Blanchard Elementary - Lisa Regan and Kyle Joiner, Teachers - Tim Smith, Principal
Elementary (3 - 5) Cameryn Lovett, Britt David Magnet Academy - Ms. Whitley, Teacher - Ronie Collins, Principal
Middle (6 - 8) *Surendra Mahadea, Arnold Magnet Academy - Rhonda Allen, Teacher - Lura Reed, Principal
Secondary (9 - 12) Arianna Rafi, Hardaway High -Ms. Hale, Teacher - Matt bell, Principal
*This year Surendra Mahadeo from Arnold Magnet Academy was chosen as the 2012 Georgia Middle School Reader of the Year.
Julie Williams, Media Specialist at Britt David Magnet Academy, is the MCSD Coordinator for the Georgia Reader of the Year Program.

Arianna Rafi is not pictured


© Muscogee County School District
2960 Macon Road - Columbus, Georgia 31906 - 706-748-2000 
Georgia Reader of the Year Award Winners
Can't find what you are looking for?
Try our new improved search!