Skip To Main Content

Landing Nav


English Language Arts (K-5)

General Information

In English Language Arts, grades K through 5, student learning is focused instruction based on our Kindergarten through Fifth grade Georgia English Language Arts Standards of Excellence (ELAGSE).  

Building literacy skills in all of the key components of our standards include; reading, writing, language, and listening and speaking. Specifically, the standards of reading and language include: phonological awareness, phonics, fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, and morphology. Effective communication includes the standards of student’s written and oral (speaking) expression.

Based on the science of reading, students will experience direct instruction, guided practice, collaborative and independent learning, to include a focus on structured literacy practices, multisensory, differentiated, and personalized learning approaches.

Contact Information

Nekia Roberts 
Content Specialist K5 ELA